XML Directorate

The XML Directorate provides expert review of the use of XML and XML-related technologies in IETF documents. Members of the XML Directorate are selected by the Application Area directors. Individuals who wish to participate should contact the Application Area directors.

The directorate is not a formal review body; the IESG has that role. Therefore, comments made by the directorate have no more weight than those made by individual IETF participants. The directorate is best thought of as a convenient way to contact a group of XML experts within the IETF.

The directorate currently consists of:

Tim Bray <tim.bray@sun.com>
Ned Freed <ned.freed@mrochek.com>
Graham Klyne <GK@NineByNine.org>
Andrew Newton <anewton@ecotroph.net>
Marshall Rose <mrose@dbc.mtview.ca.us>
Phil Shafer <phil@juniper.net>

WG Chairs and individuals responsible for I-Ds that employ XML are urged to request review early in the review process of an I-D.

The directorate can be contacted by sending e-mail to <xml-dir@ietf.org>.

An open list for discussion of XML use in IETF protocols, <ietf-xml-use@imc.org>, is also available.